Hobbies

If you ask me to list all my hobbies, the list would end up being longer than the great wall of China. But if you ask me how many of those I pursue consistently, the list would shrink to a size Tyrion Lannister would be proud of.

I like to sing, read books, watch cricket, play cricket, write blogs, travel, read about start-ups, maintain personal diary, listen to music, play violin, tweet, browse through old pics, watch movies, among other things.

There’s a weird trend I’ve figured out about how I treat my hobbies. Tweeting is just about the only hobby I pursue consistently, almost daily. Apart from that, all my hobbies share a love-hate relationship with me.

There have been phases when I’ve completed reading three books in a week. There have also been phases when I hadn’t turned a page in 4 months.

There have been times when I would update my personal diary almost everyday, sharing the minutest of details from the day with my best companion, the Diary. There have also been months when I conveniently ignored my best friend, and my mirror, the Diary.

In 4 weeks, I recorded 4 Karaokes, and then nothing at all thereafter.

There have been times when I wouldn’t miss a single ball of even an India vs Bangladesh Test match. No longer.

It’s been the same love-hate relationship with most of my hobbies.

I was just thinking about this whole thing today. I figured out that our (or may be just “my”) mind doesn’t allow me to pursue multiple hobbies at the same time.

If I have a complete day at my disposal, I can’t watch a TV series for half a day and read a book in the other half. In other words, a hobby which is supposed to be an activity done for the sake of enjoyment in one’s leisure time, becomes an obsession for me. I become so obsessed with my hobbies that I keep thinking about them even in my non-leisure time, reducing my productivity, which in turn increases the time I take to do productive work (be it office work, or otherwise) which in turn reduces the free time I get to pursue my hobbies. To quote the CEO of the company I interned with, “It is a viral loop”.

Alright, the award for the most random blogpost on wordpress goes to….

One response to “Hobbies

  1. I think it’s a general lack of discipline that causes this… I have it too…

Leave a Reply

