Movie Review: Uthama Villain

Writer’s note: The review is full of spoilers. Advised not to read it if you haven’t watched the movie and plan to, in the future.

“Manoranjan (Kamal Haasan) comes to know that he has only few days to live. So he decides to make a film in which he’s immortal.”

What a one-liner for a movie! I was floored.

Uthama Villain

Uthama Villain

This time last year, we were exposed to a few first looks of the movie and the anticipation kept building. My old room-mate (who too is a Kamal veriyan) had the “Mrityunjaya jaya jaya” music as his ringtone.

Sadly the movie didn’t release in Gurgaon (Why does this always happen to Kamal Haasan)! So after two months of release, I managed to watch it today. I consciously kept myself away from reviews and news articles about the movie because I knew I was going to watch it anyway, and didn’t want any exposure about the movie, so that I could completely enjoy it when I finally watch it. Which I did.

I refused to believe the people who called Uthama Villain a boring movie. I knew Kamal Haasan was not going to disappoint us. And with K. Balachander playing a key role, I was going to watch it anyway, even if the entire world told me the movie was bad.

And what a delight it was! The five things that stood out to me were: Kamal Haasan (the actor), Kamal Haasan (the singer), Kamal Haasan’s story,  K. Balachander’s acting and Ghibran (the music director).

The film tries to portray the personal life of a public figure, how difficult it can be, sometime to succeed both in personal life and in your profession (art in specific).

The film “Uthama Villain” within the film is a comic relief with Nasser, Gnanasambhandham and the other minister providing ample support to Kamal Haasan, the comedian! What is this artist not good at! __//\\__

Things which could have worked against the movie are its running legth and very poor animation (the Tiger looks like a cartoon).

Nevertheless, the movie to me stands out because of the lead actors’ performances, the irony in the script and its music.

The film ends with these lines: “Saaga varam pol sogam undoa! Theera kadhaiyai kaetpaarundo!”

Fortunate to live in the Kamal era.

Wait begins for Paapanasam.

3 responses to “Movie Review: Uthama Villain

  1. Awesome review nitin. Mirtinjaya

  2. Pingback: Movie Review: Thoongavanam | My Shillong Diary

Leave a Reply

