Nexus & Mélange 2015

Some three years ago, I remember attending Nexus 2012 in Chennai. I had a lot of questions in mind about IIM Shillong. And Nexus was a great platform for people like me to get their doubts cleared from the Seniors. Prasanna and I were the only two people from the incoming batch of 2012-2014. We were completely outnumbered by our seniors and super seniors and “superest” seniors. I remember sitting there amid all of them, listening curiously to their chatter. They spoke about a lot of things related to IIM Shillong, which was Greek and Latin at that time but made a lot of sense after we reached there. I also made a few connections from the super senior batch who continue to stay in touch till date. It’s a simple yet brilliant concept. Nexus. Get a set of people together who have at least one thing in common. IIM Shillong. My Alma Mater. I attended Nexus 2015 in Delhi today. Attendance from the senior batches (my batch and my seniors) was surprisingly very less. But there were at least 10-15 prospects of PGP-15 batch who were in attendance. Somewhere while interacting with them, I realized how time has flown in these three years, from the day I attended my first Nexus till today. Over these years, my responsibility towards my Alma Mater has also increased. To be able to live up to the expectations of an IIM Shillong Alumnus! image

Three months ago, we also had a more formal Annual Alumni Meet at Delhi, called Mélange 2015. The event had our Director and our esteemed Professor Sanjeeb Kakoty in attendance. As Kakoty sir gave us updates about the changes in the Institute, the flashback of the good old days at Shillong replayed in our minds. Alumni Committee had also made a beautiful video about Life at IIM Shillong, with mini talks from our favorite faculty. It was a tear jerker, literally. image

Ah, how I miss that place! Shillong.

Leave a Reply

