Startup Diaries #2: Peppertap

Imagine this scenario. Anupam Nair and Prateek Saurav are two bachelors who are working in Gurgaon, staying in a 2 BHK. Both of them are lazy by nature; so lazy that they think twice even for moving inside their house. So for them, going to the Grocery store to buy the weekly groceries was always going to be a colossal task. And in a city which has one of the maximum number of migrant employees staying away from home, Anupam Nair and Prateek Saurav are not alone.

It is this gap that Peppertap has identified and is trying to establish itself, as an Online Grocery, fruits and vegetables store. And they are slowly but surely making a mark in this space, in Gurgaon.

I heard about Peppertap three months ago, from a colleague whose friend is working there. I gave them a try. And they impressed. The Android App interface can be better and more user-friendly. There are nine Meta Categories, and anywhere between 2 to 9 sub-categories for each of the Meta Categories. So the App can be a bit tough to handle, initially. But then, their search bar is beyond awesome. I realized this only after my first 2-3 orders. After that, all I had to do was “search” for an item and add it to my cart. So instead of choosing “Fruits & Vegetables” and then choosing “Vegetables” and then choosing “Potatoes”, I could just type “Potatoes” on the search bar and add it to my cart.

And their selection is good, considering they’ve only started a few months back. I’m sure they’ll expand their category tree with time. Geography-wise, they’ve hit the bull’s eye by starting with Gurgaon.

Service is impressive. They deliver within two hours and there’s no extra charge for delivery if your basket size is above 250. I’ve had only one bad experience with them. I had ordered for 3 units of Nutrichoice 5 grain and got Nutrichoice Digestive delivered instead. To quote Deepika Padukone, it is “my choice” what biscuit I’d like to munch. Raised this issue with their customer service agent and they were quick to respond and cordial.

Google Playstore says that their Android App has 5000-10000 downloads and my latest order number was 9270. So they’re still young, but definitely growing.

Good luck, Peppertap!  Would love to see “peppertap” become a verb, like Whatsapp, Xerox.

Why go to the market to buy groceries when you can just PepperTap it.

Cheers!

5 responses to “Startup Diaries #2: Peppertap

  1. I don’t understand the purpose of human existence if we do not even have time to go buy groceries on a weekend… Seriously where are we heading 😦

    • Bhaskar, it’s not about having time… It’s about convenience. Why do people buy mobile phones online when they can go to a UniverCell store on the Main Road! Convenience.
      Clearly, you are not peppertap’s target segment. And to their advantage, they have thousands of lazy bones (like me) who’d rather spend an extra half hour sleeping than go to the Grocery store on a burning Sunday afternoon. 🙂

      • Valid point. But I didn’t find it amusing to shop vegetables and fruits online. That’s why I hated BigBasket. I even attended a talk by the BigBasket but unfortunately and very closely missed out on asking her this very ques:-)

  2. Ohkay. You could reach out to her via Twitter and express your views on Big Basket. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Startup Diaries #3: Gharofy.com | My Shillong Diary

Leave a Reply

