Noor-E-Medley – 2 days to go!

It was one of those Sundays when I was lazing around at home dong nothing, when I got a call from Saurabh Lalwani, a good friend of my good friend Anupam (Pam, going forward).

Though I hadn’t spoken to Saurabh at all until then, I had come to know a lot about him from Pam while in Shillong. Saurabh was Pam’s college mate from NIT Surat. While in Surat, he had developed a keen interest towards music, so much that he decided to make a career out of it. I was very surprised at the sound quality of the songs Pam had sung for Saurabh and was hoping I could sing for him, someday.

So I was elated when Saurabh asked me if I could sing for him. The song was a medley of two songs – Noor-E-Khuda from ‘My Name is Khan’ and ‘Walk On’ by U2 (Unnecessary Trivia: Sachin Tendulkar’s favorite band :P).

Walk-On-Canadian-Single-Version-2-cover

The next weekend, I went to Vaishali to start recording for the song, ‘Noor-E-Khuda’. It wasn’t easy for me, considering it was my first recording in 7 years. The scale of the song (D) too was two notes higher than the highest I’ve ever sung in my life (C). All did not go well initially since I couldn’t hit the high notes in D. After a week’s practice in D, I did manage to hit the high notes and Saurabh recorded them. Noor-E-Khuda was born.

2ytrwvb

Saurabh had already recorded the other portions of the song as well as the ‘Walk-On’ part with Bhavya, Utkarsh and Chanchal, all of them being established musicians in their fields; Bhavya – vocal, Utkarsh – keys, Chanchal – Tabla and Saurabh – Guitar and vocals. After the song was done completely, we decided to take it a level further by making a video – on the lines of a home jam.

10846238_4703324398890_9195573040221573672_n

According to me, it has come out really really well. The song is releasing this Friday (19th Dec, 2014). Watch it and let us know your comments.

One response to “Noor-E-Medley – 2 days to go!

  1. Pingback: Noor-e-Medley, by The jokers’ Project | My Shillong Diary

Leave a Reply

